2017 CGS Membership is open

Who We Are

The Canadian Glaucoma Society was established to offer a forum for ophthalmologists  and scientists with an interest in glaucoma to exchange ideas on all aspects of this sight-threatening disease.

The Society meets twice each year. We hold a winter Annual Glaucoma Meeting for members. Our open meeting each June is in conjunction with the Canadian Ophthalmological Society annual meeting. We discuss current topics from visiting speakers, members and residents in training. We are also responsible for the glaucoma portion for the main COS meeting each year and Skills Transfer sessions at the meeting. The Stephen Drance Award is given for the best scientific presentation by a trainee, including residents, fellows, and medical or graduate students.

Goals of our website

This site has member and non-member areas for discussing important glaucoma concerns to better care for our patients. The non-member section provides general information about our goals and educational material for patients. The member-only section is for minutes of annual meetings, white papers being discussed, and clinical case discussions for input from our members. We would appreciate your feedback and any content that you would like to contribute. Please contact me with your suggestions and articles.



CGS Statement on Minimally Invasive Glaucoma Surgery

Update of the “Patient Care and Innovation Committee” June 2015

Committee Members:  Lisa Heckler, Michael Dobrogowski, Patrick Gooi, Cindy Hutnik (Group Chair)

A summary of the work of this committee was presented at the AGM in April 2015

There was broad agreement, based on current evidence and practice patterns, that MIGS does have a role in the glaucoma treatment paradigm and that enough published evidence exists to support access to iStent, trabectome and ECP (endoscopic cyclophotocoagulation).  Although other devices are available in clinical trials, the evidence was not yet sufficient to allow a recommendation.  It was also agreed that MIGS is not a "magic bullet" for all patients and should not be considered equivalent to a trabeculectomy or tube surgery in terms of efficacy, safety, or cost-effectiveness.  The issue of barriers to access based on cost need to be considered so that patients have equitable access to MIGS surgery.



Although the Canadian Glaucoma Society (CGS) was officially founded in 1989, the origins of the CGS can be traced back to the early 1970s.  Fellows of Dr. Stephen Drance, in conjunction with other glaucomatologists,[1] met annually at the Canadian Ophthalmology Society (COS) to present cases and study reports.  In time, other ophthalmologists with an interest in glaucoma were also invited to join.  As Dr. Drance’s involvement gradually diminished, the need for a more formal organization became apparent.  Dr. Raymond Leblanc was instrumental in leading this initiative, and in 1989 the CGS was officially established.  Under his leadership as the first president of CGS, there was tremendous growth of the group and several others have taken on this leadership role since that time.[2]

 Bylaws for CGS were eventually developed and state: “The purpose of this society shall be to maintain and improve the quality of patient care and teaching, particularly as it relates to the investigation and treatment of glaucoma.  The Society will direct its efforts to promoting the interchange of information and scientific material and facilitating meetings of those who have a special interest in the diagnosis and management of the glaucomas.  The Society is to be non-profit organization.”

 Today the society meets on an annual basis via a CGS dinner, held at the COS meeting each year.  The CGS is responsible for the glaucoma portion of the meeting, including the Skills Transfer sessions for glaucoma, as well as for administering several awards that include the Stephen Drance Award for the best glaucoma scientific presentation by a trainee.  In 2014 the CGS formally adopted a five-year strategic plan and introduced additional awards to foster research.  Further details can be found on the CGS website (http://cgs-scg.org/research-awards/). 

The success of the CGS’s journey is due to the collective contribution of all its members along the way.  The CGS has wonderful members with diverse interests and skills, who, despite having busy clinical practices in various geographic locations across Canada, come together regularly to exchange ideas on glaucoma and to support glaucoma related clinical care, as well as educational and scientific ventures.   

Compiled and written by:
Dr. Darana Yuen, MD, FRCSC
CGS Member
Faculty, University of Toronto, Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences

[1]{C} Glaucomatologists involved in the 1970s included: Raymond LeBlanc, Dr. Nabil Saheb, Dr. Gordon Douglas, Dr. Donald Morin, Dr. Henry Wyatt, Dr. Marvin Kwitko, Dr. Marcel Amyot, Dr. Gilles Côté, Dr. Robert Reid, Dr. John Speakman, Dr. Alf Elliot, Dr. Donald Mills, Dr. Michael Motolko and Dr. Cecil Ewing.

[2]{C} CGS past presidents in chronological  order: Dr. Raymond LeBlanc, Dr. Gille Coté, Dr. Fred Mikelberg, Dr. Marcel Amyot, Dr. Andrew Crichton, Dr. Gordon Douglas, Dr. Paul Rafuse, Dr. Yvonne Buys, Dr. Marcelo Nicolela, Dr. Neeru Gupta, and Dr. Karim Damji. 

This site is meant to help in education but does not in any way replace being examined by a qualified eye care professional.