Please note the deadline for application submission is May 1, 2018

Canadian Glaucoma Society Annual Research Awards 2018


The objective of the Canadian Glaucoma Society (CGS) Research Awards is to encourage undergraduate students and trainees in Ophthalmology and Vision Research as well as established Ophthalmologists and PhD researchers to undertake investigative research in glaucoma.


Three categories of award will be considered for presentation.  These consist of the Best Glaucoma Paper Award (4 levels), The Drance Award, and the President’s Award. 

 1         Best Glaucoma Paper Award

The Best Glaucoma Paper Award is given annually to research manuscripts in glaucoma published in a peer reviewed journal in 2017.   This award is presented in 4 individual categories based on level of training. For all categories the research has to be primarily undertaken by a trainee in a Canadian program or a physician or scientist practicing within Canada.  The judges will assess the innovation of the research question, rigor of the study protocol, and potential clinical application of the results as criteria in judging the competition.

Four awards will be given, one each for the following categories based on level of training:
1.     Student; undergraduate or medical degree

2.     Graduate student; Masters or PhD degree

3.     Ophthalmologist in training; resident or fellow

4.     Staff member; ophthalmologist or PhD scientist

Application process:

The applicant must submit:

1.     A request to be considered for an award, with a statement as to which level of training category they are eligible for

2.     An electronic copy (PDF format) of the paper published in the year 2017. The nominee must be first or second author and must outline his/her contribution to the project. 

3.     Applications by trainees of any level (i.e. categories 1 - 3 above) must be accompanied by a letter of support submitted by the supervisor of the project.   Ophthalmologists in practice and established scientists do not need a letter of support.

Submissions should be sent via e-mail to CGS c/o Peggy Manos –  email - no later than May 1, 2018.  The selection committee for deciding the awardee is composed of members appointed by the executive of the Canadian Glaucoma Society.  If no submission is received in a given category, or, in the opinion of the Awards Committee, no submitted paper reaches the level of excellence deemed worthy of recognition, no prize in that category will be presented.

2          Drance Award

 The Stephen Drance Award for Excellence in Glaucoma Research is awarded annually to the best paper presentation delivered at the Research Symposium of the Canadian Glaucoma Society Annual Meeting, held in conjunction with the Canadian Ophthalmological Society Annual Meeting.  The selection committee for deciding the awardee is composed of members present at the meeting appointed by the Awards Committee of the Canadian Glaucoma Society. 

3          The President's Award     

The President's Award is given once every two years.  The president of the CGS will nominate a colleague who has had a significant impact on glaucoma care and/or research in Canada throughout their career.  The Board of Directors of the CGS will approve the nomination before the announcement is made.


All winners will be announced and awarded with a certificate presented at the Canadian Glaucoma Society annual dinner, during the COS Annual Meeting.  The Best Paper award winners will receive a cheque for $500; the Stephen Drance Award is associated with a cash prize of $1000.


Bourses annuelles de recherche de la Société Canadienne du Glaucome 2018


L'objectif des bourses de recherches de la société canadienne du glaucome (SCG) vise à encourager les étudiants en médecine ou en    premier cycle universitaire, stagiaires en ophtalmologie et en recherche de la vision, et les ophtalmologistes et chercheurs (PhD) établis à entreprendre des recherches sur le glaucome.



Trois catégories de bourses seront attribuées : la bourse pour la meilleure publication sur le glaucome (4 niveaux), la bourse Drance et la bourse du président.


1 Bourse pour la meilleure publication sur le glaucome

La bourse pour la meilleure publication sur le glaucome est offerte chaque année pour un manuscrit de recherche sur le glaucome publié dans un journal révisé par les pairs en 2017.  Cette bourse comprend quatre catégories attribuées selon le niveau de formation du candidat. Pour chaque catégorie, la recherche doit être entreprise principalement par un/une stagiaire inscrit(e) dans un programme canadien ou par un chercheur ou médecin établi et travaillant au Canada.  Le jury évaluera l’innovation de la question de recherche, le protocole de recherche, et l’application clinique des résultats.


Quatre bourses sont offertes, une pour chaque catégorie selon le niveau ci-dessous :


     1. Étudiant(e) en médecine ou en premier cycle universitaire.

     2. Étudiant(e) en deuxième ou troisième cycle universitaire.

     3. Résident(e) ou fellow en ophtalmologie.

     4. Ophtalmologiste ou chercheur (PhD) établi.


Procédure de la demande

Le/la candidat(e) doit soumettre :


1.   Une demande de bourse indiquant le niveau de formation du candidat(e).

2.   Une copie électronique (format PDF) de l'article publié en    2017.  Le/la candidat(e) doit être le/la premier (ière) ou le/la deuxième auteur (e). Il/elle doit décrire sa contribution à la recherche.

3.   Les demandes des stagiaires de tous les niveaux (catégories

    1-3) doivent être accompagnées d’une lettre d’appui du

    superviseur. Les ophtalmologistes et chercheurs établis au

    au Canada n’ont pas besoin d’envoyer une lettre d’appui.


Les soumissions doivent être envoyées par courriel électronique à Peggy Manos, SCG, courriel : avant le premier mai, 2018.


Le comité de sélection pour chaque prix est composé de membres nommés par l'exécutif de la société canadienne du glaucome. S’il   n’y a pas de soumissions pour l’une des bourses dans l’une des catégories ou si le comité est d’avis que la qualité des publications n’est pas excellente, cette bourse ne sera pas octroyée.


2 Bourse Drance

La Bourse Stephen Drance pour excellence en recherche de glaucome est offerte chaque année pour honorer le meilleur papier présenté à l'assemblée annuelle de la société canadienne du glaucome, organisé conjointement avec la réunion annuelle de la société canadienne d'ophtalmologie. Le comité de sélection pour la Bourse Drance est composé de membres qui assistent à la réunion et nommés par le comité des bourses de la société canadienne de glaucome.


3 Bourse du Président(e)

La bourse du président(e) est offerte à tous les deux ans. Le/la président(e) de la SCG proposera un/une collègue qui, au cours de sa carrière avait un impact important dans le domaine du glaucome au Canada soit en clinique ou en recherche.  L’exécutif de la SCG se doit d’approuver la nomination avant d’annoncer le/la gagnant(e).  



Les récipiendaires des prix seront annoncés lors du dîner annuel de la société canadienne du glaucome, durant la réunion annuelle du SCO et ils/elles recevront un certificat.  Les gagnants de la bourse pour la meilleure publication sur le glaucome (4 niveaux) recevront un certificat de $500 et le/la gagnant(e) de la bourse Drance recevra un certificat de $1000.